Home > Uncategorized > Day 11 – No Money… running out of Food

Day 11 – No Money… running out of Food

In Trouble…

Found out yesterday that Austin does not have Albertson’s. So I really can’t get on the chicken deal (10lb for $4.00!). Good news is that my gf is coming to visit me tomorrow from DFW area and she is going to bring me the chicken from Albertson’s. Yay.. I am going to split that with her. We will see. I spent some money yesterday which is being tracked on Money Tracker page here.

I am at 167… I hope to stay around this weight moving on. I also need to find source vitamins now. I was kinda scared yesterday at the grocery store though. I didn’t feel too confident that I could finish this challenge… Garr.. I just need to shut up and eat some more peanut butter.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. shelbijo
    August 27, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Have you made that lentil soup yet? Seriously, you can make 10 cups of soup for less than $1.00.

    Have you tried dumpster diving? My friend Peter lived off of dumpster diving behind supermarkets for years…. Lots of good produce like lettuce and veggies. Lots of bread….

  2. djteknokid
    August 27, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    alright. next line in the menu = lentil soup. (i dont know what that is btw)

    • shelbijo
      August 27, 2009 at 9:52 pm

      Go to HEB and buy a package of lentils, in the dried beans section. Loosely follow the directions on the package. You do not need to use meat. I like to add onions and possibly carrots or celery or whatever is on hand. Soy sauce makes a good seasoning to the broth. Really, you can add almost anything to the lentils and broth—the broth is made by cooking the lentils in water. Garlic is also good to add. You can even add a potato (diced) to the lentils and water as they cook. The broth will become somewhat thick after cooking the lentils for about 90 minutes.

  3. August 27, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    I am wondering about this lentil soup too, since I have trouble picturing any that is 10 cups for a dollar, unless it was just lentils by themselves and terribly boring.

    Lentils used to cost $0.59 a pound, but it seems like now that people might actually eat them, they’ve gone up to $0.89 or $0.99 a pound. Then I would have about a quarter pound of sausage (cheap kind is about a dollar a pound), a can of tomato sauce, some onions, some carrots, some potatoes, some tomatoes (or maybe another can of tomato sauce), and some cayenne pepper.

    So I would already be up to $1.50 before I added the veggies and the spice, and so I can’t picture making it for less than a dollar.

    If I really didn’t have any money, I might try cutting it down to lentils, one can of tomato sauce, onions, and cayenne pepper. Maybe that’s it.

    And I wouldn’t get any lettuce out of the dumpster, unless it was a bag of salad. If you try dumpster diving for produce, get something that you can cook, or maybe something that you peel like an orange or an avocado.

    Of course, if you really want some free veggies, you can always try wild plants. But be absolutely sure about what you are picking and where you are picking it from. A lot of wild plants are either poisonous themselves or have been sprayed with poisonous chemicals.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

