Home > Uncategorized > Day 16 – Show Me Your Taco

Day 16 – Show Me Your Taco

Yes… what a title.. That’s right, I am inviting the professional taco reviewer, Nelson Flores, to review the low budget tacos I am going to be making for him for the lunch.

Who is he and what the heck is the professional taco reviewers?
You can go visit his blog at … where else, http://www.showmeyourtaco.com He has already done numerous taco reviews around Austin and he just branched out to the national level just last couple weeks. Because I do not have any tortilla with me, I requested that this is going to be BYOT event. I am kinda nervous… let’s hope he doesn’t get too grossed out with my mash up taco.

Because of the amount of spinach and lettuce I have left, I have been eating semi fresh salad more often now. This is day 15 dinner.

Day 14 Dinner + Eggs = Day 15 Dinner

Day 14 Dinner + Eggs = Day 15 Dinner

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. sk
    September 1, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    keep it up!!

  2. C.Y. Chow
    September 1, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Read about your food challenge on angryasianman.com. I think it’s a very interesting experiment. It’s about learning frugality, humility and creativity. All great lessons to be learned for us North Americans who live in such a wasteful society. Don’t be discouraged! But you may want try researching some recipes online. Eating cheap doesn’t have to be so painful. Good luck! : D
    C. Y.

    • djteknokid
      September 1, 2009 at 4:48 pm

      Thanks. Yeah food in the US are way more expensive than actually only two other countries I have been to, Mexico and Korea. I don’t think $1 a day is way to go, but $30 a day is not also way to go. Eating cheap is not painful so far… it does consume much of my time though.

  3. David Kichi
    September 1, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Dude, it’s pretty cool what you’re doing. It’d be cool to see how a carnivore, herbivore and vegan go about surviving on a limited budget. Instantly you’d have arguments that the carnivore would be spending the most as meat seems to be the costliest, though veggies esp. organics can be pricey. The chicken rotisserie seems to be the way to go if you could’ve bought that cheaply from the start and slowly segmented portions into your meals while freezing the rest. Chicken bones could be saved for soup at the end. Dumpster diving when available would totally help your experiment and stay within the rules. Oh, you could’ve saved your pennies for Taco Bell and split those 89cent burritos for two meals a day.LOL
    Anyway,Good luck!, you’re almost there, thank god you’re a skinny kid and not a regular obese schmuck!!!

    • djteknokid
      September 1, 2009 at 4:49 pm

      Nothing can beat chicken broth out of the bones…. with some rice and KIMCHI! : )

  4. September 1, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Awesome tacos today David. I am working on some other reviews but since your will be over in 4 days, I will get the review up tomorrow.

  5. Lez
    September 1, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I also found your story through angryasianman.com =)
    Pretty awesome what you’re doing here. I’ll admit that it’s hard, but I definitely don’t think it’s impossible. Just know that potatoes are an extremely versatile vegetable. πŸ™‚ you can do lots with them!!

    Good luck!! πŸ™‚ Keep the good work going!!

    • djteknokid
      September 1, 2009 at 4:50 pm

      Thanks. It is not impossible… I see it as quit smoking. It is def do able, but I am so tempted to cheat by eating behind the scene here and there. Potatoes have been my go to food. I don’t know where I would be without potatoes and peanut butter right now.

  6. M.KIM
    September 1, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Good luck! I think this blog is exactly what it purports itself to be..an experiment. People need to lighten up. Know that you gave a person some entertainment, laughs, and some reflection on food consumption. You are so close and you can do it!! I also found your story thorugh angryasianman. πŸ™‚

    • djteknokid
      September 1, 2009 at 4:51 pm

      I am actually learning a lot through this challenge which I am going to be posted at the end of the challenge. Yes! I have 4 more days to go… what should I eat when this is done?

  7. Tony
    September 2, 2009 at 3:34 am

    Some self-deprecating humor will do you some good: eat actual Japanese ramen!

  8. September 2, 2009 at 6:20 am

    Well, obviously when this is done you’re going to take your girlfriend out for a nice dinner.

    But before you do that, you might try something that is a little silly. The first thing that you should eat after you don’t have to worry about money is something from a dollar menu. The Junior Whopper from Burger King or the dollar chicken sandwich from McDonald’s tastes really good when you haven’t had one in a long time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

