Home > Uncategorized > Day 18 – Be Creative

Day 18 – Be Creative

There are actually many things I have learned through this campaign: value of money, cost of food, and notion of influencing others through this kind of campaign, which all sound philosophical and intangible. But there is one practical thing I have learned that I am going to be practicing even after the campaign.

BE CREATIVE!
Yes… I found a way to be creative with cooking. Potato pancake, gumbo, and gourmet ramen noodle were all created while I was going around the constraint I have, the budget. Heh.. this sounds like a quote I heard from somewhere. “Constraints are often advantages in disguise.”
Here is what I came up with last night while taking advantage of the constraint.

Korean Pancake Meets Sausage

Korean Pancake Meets The Sausage

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Madison
    September 3, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    That pancake looks pretty good!

    • djteknokid
      September 3, 2009 at 3:49 pm

      have you had Korean pancake?

  2. Samira
    September 3, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    First of all, I love what you are doing! I know some people commented that it’s a farce to pretend to be “poor” but this is a valuable type of lesson as to how we can all be resourceful, creative and conscious of how (and how much) we spend our money. On a lighter note, this reminds me of something my friends and I tried when we were broke college students; we tried to see how long we could last by picking up freebies at the plethora of seminars that were thrown by professors and phD students defending their thesis at various departments. Turns out, we could survive quite comfortably for about a week on soggy pizza, stale nachos and luke warm coffee. Plus, we learned a lot of random stuff, too! Good work, and I’m so glad I came across this site- I will definitely be more mindful of my purchases at the supermarket, and how I can use a couple of staple items in a variety of ways!

    • djteknokid
      September 3, 2009 at 3:51 pm

      Thanks. I am also learning a lot from this. I used to spend money on food without putting too much thought. But, please do not try this at home : ). I don’t think I am getting enough nutrition by doing this.

  3. September 3, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    On top of the increased publicity you are receiving daily, I’m happy for all the lessons you’ve attained from this experiment. Good job, David! Even though you’re almost at the finish line, I hope you continue to cook more & be creative!

    • djteknokid
      September 3, 2009 at 4:27 pm

      😉 i think it all started from your RT.

  4. Chiisai
    September 3, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    that does look very good…oh, here’s another thing that would’ve been fun to try–string cheese. you can do all sorts of things with it…you needed dairy after running out of yogurt…you can get ginormous bags of string cheese at grocery or warehouse stores…
    this morning, i cut up a tomato, added salt&pepper, sprinkled some olive oil in, then added spinach. i took one stick of the string cheese, cut it up into little pieces. then i put the whole thing in a tupperware and shook it. it was my lunch, so it had to sit for a while, but it turned out really yummy ^^…it’s my first successful salad…
    yea, being a broke college student sucks…the first week had a bunch of events with free food though, so we were like “YAY!!!! *omnomnom*”

  5. djteknokid
    September 3, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    speaking of free food.. i really thought i was going to take advantage of all the free foods available during the campaign. Not many have come through out of all I’ve expected.

  6. kirsten
    September 4, 2009 at 7:54 am

    i don’t find this offensive at all!

    and here’s how to get a free TGI Friday’s burger…

    http://www.facebook.com/fanwoody?v=app_237231835036&viewas=67100627#/fanwoody?v=wall&viewas=67100627

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

