Home > Uncategorized > Day 19 – What can YOU do with $20.09?

Day 19 – What can YOU do with $20.09?

Day 18 Dinner

Day 18 Dinner


Many people were wondering what my intention was to take on a challenge like this. It is briefly mentioned in who & Why section on this blog. Here is the little more detail to what really happened and why I am doing this.

Which phrase give you more awareness to the amount of saturated fat presented in pop corns?

A medium-sized ‘butter’ popcorn at a typical neighborhood movie theater contains more artery-clogging fat than a bacon-and-eggs breakfast, a Big Mac and fries for lunch, and a steak dinner with all the trimmings — combined

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) recommends that a normal diet contain no more than 20 grams of saturated fat each day. According to the lab results, the typical bag of popcorn had 37 grams.

This idea actually came from a book call Made to Stick. Instead of advertising UFCU’s new marketing campaign using the number 20.09. I wanted to demonstrate and tell the story what someone can actually do with $20.09.

What other creatives way could you come up with to spend $20.09? Of course I am ineligible to win the contest, because I am basically working for the during this campaign. But here are some of the ideas that I had.

  1. Go out on a nice date with $20.09 – Find a cheap movie ticket. Eat street hotdogs. Go to a park. Share ice cream.. etc. Remember the movie, Half Baked? : )
  2. Buy 4 cases of bottle water and share with homeless people over time
  3. We are actually turning one of our conference room into a creative incubator using $20.09 (videos to come)
  4. or… I can always live another 20 days with… $20.09…… noooooooooooo


So my question is.. what can YOU do with $20.09?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. S.B.
    September 4, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I love this project, and I find it inspiring. Way to stick to a (pretty darn strict) food budget. You’re almost there!

    I’m going to donate $20.09 to the food bank in honor of this experiment.

    • djteknokid
      September 5, 2009 at 1:39 pm

      S.B. you actually gave me a great idea… I will come back to you with the more detail. Thanks for your generosity.

  2. luckenbach
    September 5, 2009 at 10:16 am

    I’m sad that this is ending – I’ve enjoyed reading the posts and think the project was an excellant idea.
    Have you thought about chronicalling what you spend over the next 20 days to compare? I think that would be really interesting, but can understand that you may grow tired of it or not want to offend the VERY small minority that voice protests earlier.

    I was laid off a couple of months ago and have been learning new ways of living/not spending. Several of my fellow laid off friends have been discussing how many of our new ways we plan to keep once we are employed again.
    Your project seems to have a similar effect both for you and probably for your readers.

    • djteknokid
      September 5, 2009 at 1:40 pm

      luckenbach, this is a really good idea to compare my food spending after this thing is over. I’m actually way under my budget for the food and groceries for the month of September.

  3. September 5, 2009 at 10:23 am

    S.B., I love that idea.

    David, Congratulations. By now, you are less than 14 hours away from reaching your goal. It would be cool if we found a donor to contribute $20.09 to the foodbank for every idea (like SB’s idea to donate $20.09 to the food bank) generated here.

    Also, this probably a great time to thank the awesome team at UFCU who supported your ideas about this blog. They have been a tremendous partner to my business (FG SQUARED) for almost 8 years now and I higly recommend them to all my friends.

    Steve Golab

    • djteknokid
      September 5, 2009 at 1:42 pm

      Yeah steve. that’s a good idea.. that’s $20.09 donation from you to the foodbank. Good job steve!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

