Home > Uncategorized > Day 21. Korean Food

Day 21. Korean Food

Sorry for the late post… I am sure many people were waiting to see what I was eating when it was done.
I have really missed eating some rice during the challenge. I had no idea how expensive rice was compare to other grains. It’s a shame that how much rice I’ve wasted down the drain in the past. It’s not only rice, I used to just dispose vegetables cause I was too lazy to find a way to store them. My small experience in the last 20 days not only taught me how to be creative with small budget, it also taught me how to conserve and store left over food.

So I actually didn’t eat anything at midnight last night… I was kinda tired and I had fallen asleep. But when I woke up today for lunch, I did not waste anytime and I started cooking up things I had bought for today. It sounds like many of you already know what I was going to eat by looking at the poll result. I got me some Korean dishes! If you had never tried Korean food, I def recommend you to try at the nearest local Korean restaurant.

First Meal

First Meal


First Meal

First Meal

Have you tried Korean food? If so, how did you like it? What is your favorite Korean dish?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 7, 2009 at 7:36 am

    I don’t think I have ever tried Korean food. Is it much like Chinese food (or what passes for Chinese food in America)? Or Vietnamese food, I’ve had a little of that. It looks like it is mostly BBQ, is it?

    As for the rice being expensive, it seems like the price nearly doubled about a year ago, and I don’t remember why. But an Asian restaurant (that is what it actually says, Asian restaurant) we ate at a few times put up this sign that said while they used to offer extra rice to anyone who requested it (which you might do to balance out a dish that was spicier than you had expected), they now had to charge extra because the price of rice had gone up. And we didn’t order any extra rice, we were just talking about the sign. But some other people either didn’t see the sign or didn’t think that it applied to them, cause they always got extra rice for free, and they actually seemed to get upset. And I thought that was odd, cause you always have to pay for extra rice when you get takeout, so why should you expect to get extra rice free when you ate inside the restaurant?

    I found some rice for $.029 at Town Talk on Friday. I don’t eat a lot of rice, but that was too good to pass up. I bought the smallest bag I could find, which was still more than five pounds.

    I used to get rice for almost free. I’d get a Mahatma rice coupon out of the Sunday paper and take it somewhere with triple coupons. So maybe I’d have a $0.25 coupon and the rice would be $0.79, and I’d end up getting the rice for $0.04. Sunday papers now cost two or three dollars, so I don’t buy them as much and don’t do as much shopping with coupons, I just get more of the basic stuff that usually doesn’t have coupons anyway.

  2. September 7, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    I forgot to mention that if you wear sport’s team stuff to Chick-fil-a today, you can get a free sandwich. Of course, we also bought to sodas and an order of fries, so we ended up spending a bit over five dollars.

  3. djteknokid
    September 8, 2009 at 7:58 am

    It is really hard to describe Korean food with the comparison to Chinese and Vietnamese food. One may have different opinions but soup and BBQ represent the half of the Korean food.
    Dallas actually has many good Korean restaurants, one of the best in the nation.

    Free food….. I have failed so many times to get free food during this challenge. It sucked!

  4. September 8, 2009 at 9:00 am

    That reminds me of this MASH episode that I thought was really dumb, or at least the characters were being really dumb. They all missed this certain BBQ place, so they were trying to get the BBQ place to send them some ribs and some sauce, and they wanted the ribs sent raw.

    Okay, sure, buy some BBQ sauce from your favorite place, put why ship raw pork to another country? Surely there are places to buy pork ribs in Korea. And I doubt that finding someone to smoke the ribs would be that hard either. I’m sure Korean BBQ is very different from American BBQ, but really, I think someone there could figure it out if they just had some of the sauce, and they wouldn’t need any raw meat sent from the states. Raw pork is pretty much raw pork wherever it is from.

    Anyway, I like soup, and I like BBQ more than I used to, so I should probably try some Korean food, whenever I am able to go to nice restaurants again.

    • djteknokid
      September 8, 2009 at 9:02 am

      Heh. is that you on YouTube?

  5. September 8, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I am having trouble finding it. The episode is called Adam’s Rib, episode 11, season 3. I’m sure there’s a download torrent, but I’m having trouble finding a streaming site that works. Of course, that may just be because of my old computer, and you might have better luck.

  6. Ceylon
    September 15, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Congratulations on completing your $20.09 food quest! I found your blog less than a week before it ended, but it was still great seeing it unfold!

    My favorite (…and only) Korean dish I’ve had was Bi Bim Bop and Kimchee, which I’ve had in bastardized form and authentic form, and I loved both for different reasons. Next time I will have to exercise the strength of will to try something new, and maybe find out that I have a new favorite, haha!

    Do you mind if I ask you a question, too?
    What new dish did you like the best during this challenge, and will you make that dish again even when you’re not eating on $1 per day?

    • djteknokid
      September 28, 2009 at 12:07 am

      I wouldnt call it a new dish, but I have learned how to master potato pancake during this challenge. Also I have learned how to properly handle pinto beans as well.
      And Yes, I am going to continue to cook those two when I’m not eating on $1 per day.

  7. Chiisai
    September 25, 2009 at 1:14 am

    oh, Korean food is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    there’s this restaurant across the street from my dorm, and my roomies and i ate there on the 11th…BEST meal i’d had in a long time–bibimbap…i love the sweet and spicy sauce that goes with it…

    bulgogi tastes great too, and this spicy seafood soup that my one roomie had…

    some time ago i had a dish that was chicken stuffed with rice and some other ingredients, including ginseng…i forget what it’s called…>_>; i love ginseng…

    gamsahamnida!!!

    • djteknokid
      September 28, 2009 at 12:08 am

      You sound like you know what you are talking about when it comes to Korean food.
      I think you are talking about Sam Geh Tang. It’s boiled chicken soup right?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

